#NZV16 Day 45

Today was like Christmas.

*Please note there is a heavy dose of sarcasm in parts of the following paragraph

I awoke to my reliable alarm at 4:45am. This is after a superb evening of celebrating my Ma’s 60th birthday (it was superb, a sarcasm exempt point). So you can imagine how bright eyed and bushy tailed I was to have to hop on my bike and cruise on out to work, embarking on what I’m sure was going to be a stimulating, invigorating and simply wonderful 12 hour shift that would surely fly by. With no cleaning involved at all.

Then, there was a rumor in the smoko room that us day shift workers may have the option of leaving early or potentially having the whole day off. I’m slightly embarrassed by how useless I was at suppressing my excitement.

The rumor was confirmed by Captain Bill at the end of our morning meeting. It was one of the most wonderful gifts I could have received. Now, it’s not that I don’t enjoy my role. Most days are super. However with a lull in picking there is only so much cleaning that can be done and being the end of my week of 12 hour shifts, and a run of nights with shorter snooze time than is ideal, I was flagging.

It also meant I got to spend the whole day with my awesome sister who has been down for the weekend from Auckland with her ace hubby. Along with our wonderful Ma and Pete, we had a great family day. Being away from these super humans for the last 11 or so years has definitely led to me treasuring days like today. Where my sis and I regress to being about 10 years old, annoying each other and probably embarrassing Ma in public. Magic times.

On the wine front, here’s a rather entertaining video on the yeast process. With guests Jeremy and Anika.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

